01-02-17: NEW ACCIDENT REPORTING INFORMATION FOR WISCONSIN
Wisconsin Department of Transportation has a new on-line form for reporting accidents that occur after January 1, 2017.
If the Police respond to the accident scene and indicate that they will be completing an accident report for you, you do not need to complete the on-line form. Instances where this on-line form may be used is where the involved drivers exchange information in a reportable minor accident, a reportable single vehicle parking lot accident or a reportable accident that is reported after the fact.
to Report a Crash
Per Wisconsin Statute 346.70(1), any crash within the State of Wisconsin must be reported when it results in:
- Injury of a person
- $1,000 or more damage to any person's vehicle or property
- Damage of $200 or more to state or other government-owned property other than a vehicle.
NOTE: If you received a letter from the Department of Transportation stating you were involved in a reportable crash and requesting you to complete a report, you must complete a crash report.
Report a Crash
Information you need before starting your crash report:
- Driver license number
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Social security number
- Vehicle insurance information
** If any motorist involved in a crash/accident is uninsured additional forms will need to be completed under the safety responsibility law.
If applicable, you may upload a diagram of your crash by either scanning or taking a photo and uploading it using a camera or smartphone. This is the easiest method to upload your diagram. Please do not upload images of your vehicle as these may not be an official part of your crash report. For examples of appropriate diagrams, use the help menu on the diagram upload page.
If law enforcement is called to the crash, then law enforcement may complete the report. If law enforcement does not file the report and the crash occurred in 2017, you will need to complete the Wisconsin Driver Report of Crash DT4002.
If you need assistance, please use this FAQ and definition document. Please note, the crash form application will time out after 30 minutes of inactivity and you will lose your information. On average, a crash report will take no longer than 40 minutes to complete.
**For a crash that occurred in 2016, please use the paper form MV4002.
a Crash Report
Through WI DOT, you may purchase and print crash reports that have occurred in the last 90 days online.
Between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. motor vehicles shall park on the even side of the street on even numbered days and on the odd side of the street on odd numbered days. Alternate side parking is in effect November 1 through April 1. Fines begin at $15.00. If left unpaid after 30 days, registration may be suspended.
Under a new state regulation, school buses in
Wisconsin built after January 1, 2005 must have amber lights to
alert drivers that the bus is about to activate its flashing red
warning lights while coming to a stop. The new regulation goes
into effect on August 16, 2016.
“Flashing amber lights are a signal that the school bus is preparing to stop, so drivers need to slow down, pay attention and proceed carefully. Drivers are allowed to pass a moving bus with flashing amber lights, but they should do so cautiously,” says State Patrol Lieutenant Karl Mittelstadt. “However, once the bus displays flashing red warning lights, drivers both in front of and behind the bus must stop at least 20 feet from the bus and remain stopped until the red lights are turned off or the bus resumes travel. Drivers must stop even if the red stop-sign arm on the side of the bus is not extended.”
Stopping for red flashing lights on buses has been a state law for decades. Violating the law results in a minimum fine of $326.50 and four demerit points. The law does not apply to vehicles traveling in the opposite direction of a school bus on a divided highway separated by a median or other physical barrier. However, the law does apply if there is no median or barrier on a multiple-lane road.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, school buses are the safest form of transportation for students going to and from school and extra-curricular activities.
“With amber lights as a cautionary signal, school buses will be even safer for transporting children,” Mittelstadt said.
To help safeguard law enforcement officers, emergency responders, road maintenance workers, and others who work on the side of highways, Wisconsin has a "Move Over Law."
The law requires drivers to shift lanes or slow down in order to provide a "safety zone" for a squad car, ambulance, fire truck, tow truck, utility vehicle, or highway maintenance vehicle that is stopped on the side of a road with its warning lights flashing.
Drivers have two options for creating a safety zone:
Failure of motorists to move over is one of the reasons that motor vehicle crashes kill more law enforcement officers on duty than any other cause.
AUGUST 2014: National Night Out 2014 was a success! Check out the photos on our Facebook Page here - Tomah PD
11-10-12: Just a reminder of the new speed limit change on North Superior Avenue. The speed limit is 30MPH from Larkin Street to the Railroad tracks. Speed citations may result if you are stopped by Police. CLICK HERE FOR THE TOMAH JOURNAL ARTICLE
TOMAH DRUG TIP LINE: (608)
The Tomah Police Department has created a "Drug Tip Line" as a means for citizens to provide information anonymously regarding the possession or sale of illegal drugs in or around the City of Tomah. Anyone with information is to call the number provided an leave a detailed voicemail. The voicemail will be maintained by the Tomah Police Department Investigator, who will be conducting an appropriate investigation into the matter.